HomeIndiaMaharashtra Assembly Secretary has sent show cause notices to 53 Shiv Sena...

Maharashtra Assembly Secretary has sent show cause notices to 53 Shiv Sena MLAs. Maharashtra Assembly Secretary issues show cause notices to 53 Shiv Sena MLAs

Uddhav Thackeray and Eknath Shinde


  • Show-cause notice to 53 Shiv Sena MLAs
  • Notices were issued to 39 MLAs belonging to the Eknath faction and 14 MLAs belonging to the Uddhav camp.
  • The Maharashtra Legislative Assembly has a total of 288 seats and the current strength is 287.

Maharashtra Politics: The Maharashtra Assembly Secretary has issued show cause notices to 53 of the total 55 Shiv Sena MLAs in the state. Out of which 39 MLAs belong to Eknath Shinde’s camp and 14 MLAs belong to Uddhav Thackeray-led team. Santosh Pankar, one of the 14 MLAs from the Thackeray camp, joined the Shinde camp on July 4, the day of the government’s trust test. Legislators from both parties confirmed that the show-cause notice had arrived.

Both the parties demanded disqualification of MLAs from each other

Both parties have demanded the disqualification of MLAs from both parties, alleging that they violated the party whip during the Speaker election and the trust vote on July 3 and 4 respectively. The Shinde camp did not include the name of former chief minister Uddhav Thackeray’s son Aditya Thackeray in the list of MLAs seeking disqualification. These notifications are issued under the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly Members (Disqualification on Transfer) Rules. Sources said the MLAs have been asked to explain their stand within seven days.

Status of Maharashtra Assembly

Shiv Sena has 55 MLAs in the 288-member Rajya Sabha. With the death of a Shiv Sena MLA, the current strength of the assembly is 287. 164 MLAs voted in favor of the confidence motion and 99 against. After winning the trust vote in the state assembly on July 4, Eknath Shinde’s camp issued notices to 14 MLAs from Uddhav Thackeray’s party for violating the whip issued by Shiv Sena whip and Shinde loyalist Bharat Gokawale. A day ahead of the vote on the trust motion, Maharashtra Assembly Speaker Rahul Narvekar endorsed Gokawale as Shiv Sena’s chief whip, replacing Sunil Prabhu of the Thackeray camp. On 3 July, Rahul Narvekar of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was elected Speaker of the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly. Narvekar defeated Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena candidate Rajan Salvi in ​​the Assembly Speaker election. Narvekar got 164 votes and Salvi got 107 votes.


Most Popular

Recent Comments