HomeIndiaMaharashtra is the third largest state to defeat the BJP after Narendra...

Maharashtra is the third largest state to defeat the BJP after Narendra Modi returned as Prime Minister. Maharashtra is the third largest state where the BJP has ousted after Modi’s return as Prime Minister

Image Source: PTI
Prime Minister Modi


  • Before Narendra Modi came to power in 2014, BJP was in power in 7 states.
  • In 2018, the BJP formed government in 21 states with its own and allied parties.
  • Today, while the BJP is forming a separate government in 12 states, a new name has been added to Maharashtra

Maharashtra Politics: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has now replaced the leaders of Shiv Sena’s rebel wing after the fall of the Maha Vikas Agadhi (MVA) government in Maharashtra. Eknath Shinde He has taken a shocking decision to accept his leadership and support the government led by him. By forming a new government, Maharashtra became the third largest state after Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh where the ruling BJP at the center succeeded in “turning the wheel” of power despite failing to form a government in the elections. The BJP is now in power in 16 states (including Maharashtra) and one union out of a total of 28 states and 8 union territories in the country, the first time since Prime Minister Narendra Modi took charge of the country for a second term. territory either directly or with allies.

Today BJP is in sole power in 12 states

The BJP has its own governments in Gujarat, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Tripura, Himachal Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Goa and Manipur. BJP is the main alliance in the states of Bihar, Nagaland, Meghalaya and Puducherry. Now the new name of Maharashtra is added in this chapter. Out of the 12 states where the BJP is in sole rule, Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh have come to power after overthrowing the opposition parties. Creating a similar scenario in Maharashtra, the BJP announced that it would join the government, handing over the post of chief minister to the rebel faction of the Shiv Sena.

This is how BJP came to power in Karnataka
In the 2018 assembly elections in Karnataka, the BJP emerged as the single largest party by winning 105 seats. His government was also formed under the leadership of BS Yeddyurappa, but he had to resign after missing seven seats in a confidence vote. Following this, with the help of the Congress, Janata Dal (Secular) leader HD Kumaraswamy formed a coalition government in the state and became the first minister himself, but his government also fell within 14 months after 17 MLAs of the coalition resigned. of the Assembly. This gave BJP a chance to form the government again in the state. Yeddyurappa became the chief minister again, but in July 2021, the party removed him as chief minister and installed a BJP government. Basavaraj doll Dolly was the Chief Minister of the state from the day it was handed over.

The story of Madhya Pradesh coming back to power
The story of Madhya Pradesh coming back to power is similar to that of Karnataka. The difference is that after the elections, the BJP emerged as the single largest party in Karnataka, while in Madhya Pradesh, the BJP came second, winning 109 seats. In the 2018 elections, the Congress won 114 seats in the 230-member assembly. Congress returned to power in Madhya Pradesh after 15 years with the support of two BSP, one Samajwadi Party and some independent MLAs. The government was headed by senior Congress leader Kamal Nath, but he resigned as chief minister after 15 months. The cause was internal agitation in the party. Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia quit the party along with 22 of his supporters due to internal differences. In such a situation, Kamal Nath’s government was in minority and he had to resign. Scindia later joined the BJP along with his supporting MLAs. After that, the government was again established in the state under the leadership of Shivraj Singh Chauhan and continues to this day.

The story of Maharashtra
But in Maharashtra, the situation is slightly different. The BJP contested the 2019 assembly elections with its oldest and ideological alliance, the Shiv Sena. After the results, no one could form a government in the state for a month due to a tussle between the two over sharing the Chief Minister’s post. After this new political equations were found here. The long-standing alliance between Hindutva supporters BJP and Shiv Sena broke down. The BJP formed the government overnight along with NCP’s Ajit Pawar, but Devendra Fadnavis resigned due to lack of majority. The Shiv Sena formed the Maha Vikas Akadi (MVA) in alliance with the NCP and the Congress and its leader Uddhav Thackeray became the party’s third leader after party leaders Manohar Joshi and Narayan Rane. Like Madhya Pradesh, there was a rebellion in the ruling party. The rebellion was led by Eknath Shinde, a powerful minister in the state government. After his revolt, there was a major upheaval in Maharashtra politics on Wednesday and Thackeray resigned after two-and-a-half years in charge of the government.

Before Modi came to power in 2014, there was BJP rule in 7 states.
Now Shinde has been sworn in as the new Chief Minister of the state. Before Narendra Modi came to power in 2014, BJP was in power in 7 states including Bihar. When Modi became the Prime Minister, the leadership of the party was handed over to Amit Shah. After this the BJP began to spread its legs rapidly and in 2018 it formed governments in 21 states with its own and allied parties. But he had to face defeat in some of the state elections that followed. States like Jharkhand, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh left his hand. Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra were also there when it came out, but two of them pushed back the government and the third has joined the new government today.


Most Popular

Recent Comments